AGM 2017

Upcoming news for the 2017 AGM

During this meeting WPS members at the AGM are to elect the officers of the Society, that is the President, Secretary and Treasurer, and up to five committee members. Committee members take responsibility for different areas of the club’s work.

  • The current committee is:
  • Gail Teale – President
  • Thomas Zink – Treasurer/
  • Membership Secretary/Property
  • Hilary Troup – Secretary
  • Julie Brixton – Competitions
  • Brendon Lang – Webmaster
  • Kerry Whittaker – Programme
  • Shannon Doyle – Marketing/

At the AGM Gail Teale finishes her two year term and will hand over to a new president. Tom Zink, Hilary Troup and Lesley Moyes are leaving their positions. Gail Teale is leading the preparation for a new committee. If you would like a role on the committee or want to propose a member for a committee role, please contact Gail Teale at
Gail has the full revised committee position descriptions and is happy to discuss nominations.

The 2017 nomination form is attached here. The form must reach the Secretary by 27 July 2017.

Annual General Meeting 2016

News from the floor

News from the Annual General Meeting 2016

Funding the Programme WPS President Gail Teale and Treasurer Thomas Zink reviewed the past year and set out the club’s plans to make the coming year a great one. The AGM decided that the 2016-2017 subscription will be $84 for individual members and $48 for student/unwaged members with no discount for early payment. The new rate (up from $78/$42) will help fund the club’s activities as we go into 2017, the 125th anniversary of WPS.  It will go some way towards covering costs of upgrading our equipment and our ongoing costs like rent of the meeting hall, with less reliance on dipping into our reserve buffer. The Committee intends to apply for grants to cover major events, such as the annual exhibition and a key note speaker. It will drive to recruit new members.

New Committee

The 2016-2017 Committee is: Gail Teale (President), Hilary Troup (Secretary), Thomas Zink (Treasurer), Kerry Whittaker (Programme), Julie Brixton (Competitions), Brendon Lang (Webmaster), Lesley Moyes (Impact newsletter) and new member Shannon Doyle, who is keen to focus on communications and marketing. Clive Pigott is the Immediate Past President. Jenny O’Connor is continuing in the role of Exhibition Officer.

New Life Member

Thomas Zink was unanimously voted in as our newest life member. President Gail Teale detailed Tom’s work as a longstanding committee member, who has consistently gone beyond the call of duty to keep the club going. He has been a steady hand at the wheeel in his role as Treasurer.